Week 1

For class this week we had to explore three places in Second Life so I decided to visit somewhere that I thought would be familiar. I decided to travel to Dublin with in second life and on of the first things that i noticed was the horrific scene of souls trapped withing the window of the local pub, frantically clawing to escape from there transparent prison.Capture.PNGI then decided to enter the pub but unfortunately I was told to leave because horses are not allowed within the pub. I found this to be somewhat unfair because my friend who was a literal Werewolf was allowed to enter and was served but my horse was deemed a bit much, i feel a reevaluation of there standards are probably in store that that is not my place to decide. I then decided to go to the local Burger King which was severely understaffed because there was not a single soul inside. So I decided to go have a look behind the counter witch made me feel extremely small, I do not feel that this Burger King is to the correct scale as it feels somewhat over sized in general.Capture1.PNG Then while i was on my way out of Dublin I seemed to defile the laws of physics them self’s and fell right through the tarmac into a subterranean grassy meadow which was interesting to say the least. Giving that it is October and Halloween is decide to travel somewhere more creepy. I landed on a horror map in where I was met with the site of a cheery pair of undead. This may have been frightening if they where frightening. I do not know if it is just me but when there is a zombie that cant move in any other way but looking at you, and making a noise that can be only described as a cat coughing up a hairball while having its paw step on I don’t find that very frightening in fact it was rather humerus. I then received a witch’s hat free of charge which was a quite nice thing to do. dont open dead inside.PNG The rest of my adventure in this area was fairly uneventful however much like the Burger King before the horror map was devoid of people bar two who were completely still and silent almost like statues in a way. the only other things of note in this map was a rather creepy looking doll but lost all of its potential fear factor when a realised that was all it was an inanimate doll,woodbury falls.PNGthere was a cute cat which a thought was an interesting contrast between the insidious setting the creators where trying to paint.

cat.PNG

On the final stage of my journey I travelled to Japan, this was fairly interesting as a got driven around in a car. (picture Here) this unfortunately only lasted a few seconds and then my driver ran off into the distance leaving my in the car alone to ponder what has just happened. I must admit a have a week spot for the look of japan, from the beautiful Sakura trees with there pink buds to the imposing and almost awe inspiring red Torii.Capturej1.PNG The last thing I witnessed on my journey where two people trying to gain access to a house. One of the pair was posing as a delivery man but looked more akin to a post apolitical survivor. their efforts however did not do them much good as there was a language barrier between the two who were speaking English and the home owners who i believe but am unsure were speaking German. As I was leaving this scene as my interest had waned at this point I couldn’t help but have a look inside the house. While not photographed as to hold up some sense of decency and privacy in this virtual world but mostly because it left me in a state of confusion that hindered me from doing so, Inside the house was what I believe to be some sort of grotesque lizard human hybrid looking looking at the two would be delivery men through the door. This creature walked on all fores and had a large tale and it was more terrorising then anything i had seen on the apparent “horror” map. It was at that point that I decided I had had another for the day and halted my journey.Capture7.PNG

 

One thought on “Week 1

Leave a comment